In the Name of Love

Hands

photo credit: Toni Blay via photopin cc

In the Name of Love

 
I stood before you bleeding
From the sharpness of your misguided words
My rapid, shallow breathing
Attempting to pull the oxygen back inside me
From the blood spilled on the table
 
I’ve seen you walk out through that door
So many times before
Knowing that you would, soon…
Realize how very much you loved me
And return to the scene of the crime…
To pick up the pieces of me
You so easily left lying on the floor
 
But never before tonight,
Had you left me in such a large pool of blood
Gasping for the air
That you had sucked out of me…
My heart pounding so hard
That my body throbbed back and forth
Like the pendulum of the clock
With the broken glass…
Scattered along the wall around it
 
You had practiced it so many times before
That you could slam that door so hard
It sounded much like the shotgun blast
We heard in the hallway of our first apartment…
Right outside our door…

Your ex…

The one before me… 

I thought he was going to kill us both
Until you threw some of your things into a trash bag
And left with him…
For nearly a week…
With not so much as a phone call…

My heart nearly leapt from my body
When you walked back through that door
With that smile of yours…
And your ‘hi, sweetie’ greeting
With an explanation that wouldn’t have
Fooled a two year old…
 
Your explanations never mattered to me though
With the excitement I felt in my soul
Each time you returned…

I easily forgot about the scratches on my face…
My blood stained clothes…
The multitudes of deep scars ingrained within my skin
Serving as reminders that will last for a lifetime…
 
And of course… my broken heart…
 
None of that mattered…
 
You were here with me now…
Longing to stimulate the passion within me
That you know can so easily be aroused with
Just your touch…
Your kiss…
 
I know that you’ll stay this time…
And feel the enormous love that swells inside me
For your passion, your presence beside me
And appreciate what I am so readily offering you…
My heart…
I know that you’ll stay this time…
 
At least for a few days
 
The scratches are healing nicely…
The bruising around my nose and eyes
Have turned from black into hues of greens and yellows…
There is only a small stain left on the carpet
And only a slight discoloration of the table top
Where I so carelessly spilled my blood upon it
 
No one ever told me that love wouldn’t last forever…
I wouldn’t have believed them if they had…
No one ever told me that you’d leave again with whomever…
I’ll try real hard to never make you mad…
 
No one ever told me that love wouldn’t last forever…
I wouldn’t have believed them. lying together in our bed…
No one ever told me that the news man soon would say
That you walked out through that door…
 
And left me dead…

© 2014

Okay… admit it… this one took you by surprise…

Please have a
Safe…
Peaceful…
Affectionate evening…

And please…
Don’t live with domestic abuse of any kind…
Physically, mentally, or emotionally!

Michael

4 thoughts on “In the Name of Love

  1. Wow..I feel so moved by this..,As I read I could feel my heart hammering in my chest..The emotion poured out is exceptionally done…It spills like liquid pain onto the page/screen beautifully.. Great write.. Caro

    Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

