The ‘coincidental’ Miracle…

Heart

photo credit: seyed mostafa zamani via photopin cc

Good evening everyone…

I wanted to thank all of the visitors that have so generously spent their time reading some of my resent posts.  They have been rather lengthy and different from my normal form of writing in rhyme.  I’ve enjoyed writing them and enjoyed even more the wonderful support I have received from you.  The ‘likes’ and the ‘comments’ have been very much appreciated.  Some of the comments have been most humbling.  I’m honored by every visitor and have so enjoyed exploring your sites, writings, photographs and brilliance.  So tonight, I’ll be torturing you once again with another lengthy story…

“The ‘Coincidental’ Miracle…”

 
The people continued to pass by me
As if I had mysteriously been able
To obtain the ability to make myself invisible…
I looked at my arm lying against the concrete
Looking quite obvious to my own eyes..
As one of the passers-by tossed a quarter
In my direction, bouncing it off the pavement
And striking me in the forehead
 
I thought that maybe if I lay there long enough
Perhaps I’d collect enough coins to pay for
The ambulance ride that I was going to require
Whenever… if ever… someone was observant enough
To notice that I could not move.
 
A young man with pants sagging halfway down his butt
The crotch stretched tightly between his knees
Stooped down and exclaimed to his
Nervously trembling friend that he thought
That I just might be dead…
Even after he observed my eyes move
To look directly into his own
 
I wasn’t even sure if I could speak,
If I was able to even utter some form of noise
To profess to the gathering crowd
That I was indeed still a living creature
And would someone… anyone…
Please find it within their heart
To help me…
Please…..
 
Hundreds must have passed me by
Lying on the sidewalk
My heart barely beating…
The pain in my chest so excruciatingly unbearable…
My breath, finding it difficult to
Crawl its way past my lips…
 
If I could just tell one of them
To reach into my pocket and
Retrieve the tiny bottle from within
And place one small, miniscule tablet
Beneath my tongue…
There could still be a possibility, although slight in its presence
That I might still survive
This mostly unexpected, yet not totally so…
Encounter with death
 
From my vantage point,
Face against the rough texture of the sidewalk
The back of my head pressed hard against
The façade of an elderly building
Pretentiously labeling itself as that of a non-profit
Assisting the elderly…
With a sign in the window that read…
“Donate here to help fight heart disease”…
 
Moving the only part of me that seemed
To have any ability at all for motion…
My eyes scanned the surface directly before me
Finding that I had indeed had a profitable day after all…
Fifty four cents had fallen within my reach…
If I could have moved my hand to grasp it with my fingers
One quarter, two dimes, one nickel and four shiny new pennies…
All profit…
Just for lying horizontal on the sidewalk for a few minutes
 
As my vision began to blur
My only thought was that I would proudly and eagerly
Donate the entire fifty four cents to help fight heart disease
If just one…
Just one lonely human being would look out of that window
And realize that there was another lonely soul lying beneath it…
On the sidewalk…
Paralyzed from the very illness
That they so proudly claim to be fighting against,
Needing someone to extend a hand…
Or perhaps a defibrillator…
Maybe a breathing tube…
Or soon I would need nothing but a casket….
 
I could no longer see the fifty four cents on the sidewalk…
I could no longer see the nineteen pairs of shoes
In every style and every color
That had gathered around me…
Staring…
 
It was cold lying on the ground…
My body becoming colder by the moment…
My lips were bluing from what I mistakenly
Took for a winter storm…
While the sun shined warmly on my face…
The chill covered my body
Like the time I ran into the snowfall barefoot
Clad only in a red striped tee shirt…
When I was four…
 
My mind was clouding with thoughts of the present
While dancing in confusion with the past…
I thought of the fifty four cents lying on the ground…
Wondering what the significance could possibly be…
What coincidencidental experience
Might be attempting to convey from the universe…
Beyond all of my understanding…
With exactly fifty four cents…
Matching exactly the year of my birth
 
That was my last thought in the moment…
Silence had finally subdued the confusion scrambling my brain
My ears had become only dormant appendages
Extending from my head…
My mouth had become so dry
Before the spirit abandoned the withering body
That my lips had faded from blue to crusty ivory…
 
I could no longer feel…
I could no longer hear…
I no longer expected survival to be a consideration…
Not of the crowd…
Not of the EMT’s… if they were ever to arrive…
Not of the lonely souls that stood behind the window
Proudly displaying their “Help Fight Heart Disease” sign…
I no longer expected survival to be a consideration
Even of the young woman that had knelt down next to me…
 
Touching my face ever so softly
Her beautiful essence telling me that she would help…
 
Seven days, fourteen hours, and fifty four minutes later….
I awoke.
I awoke startled by the sight of an empty room,
Void of any human existence…
Walls barren of anything other than tubes and wires…
And a large ugly clock on the wall that read…
Seven fifty four…
 
I could still see her face…
Eyes shut or eyes wide open
She was there beside me…
Hopeful…
Reassuring…
Caring…
 
A nurse entered the barren room
I moved my hand to take hold of hers and asked…
Who saved me?
Who rescued me from the cold hard sidewalk
And saved me from imminent peril?
 
The nurse smiled…
And told me the story, in a very calm soft voice,
Of a very beautiful young woman
And an elderly gentleman taxi driver…
Together they carried me
Beyond the taxi
Beyond the entrance
Beyond the waiting room
And gave to me…
A tomorrow…
No other information about either of them…
 
Today I am better…
I’ll never completely recover from what had happened…
But I can see…
I can smell…
I can hear…
I can move all of my limbs, although still painful
I can feel…
And I can still see the young woman’s face
Every minute of every day…
And yesterday, if only in my imagination…
She was sitting right next to me…
In the back seat of a taxi…
 
I’ve been searching for her endlessly now
For fifty three days…
Tomorrow I’ll be riding in a taxi
Into the hope of ‘coincidence’…
I can only hope for the miracle of what I may find there…
On day fifty four…
‘Coincidentally’…

© 2014 All Rights Reserved…

Have an enlightening evening…

Oh… and by the way…
There are no ‘coincidences’…

Michael

8 thoughts on “The ‘coincidental’ Miracle…

    • Good afternoon Tina… Thank you very much for taking the time to read my extremely long write. i’m glad that you enjoyed it. I’m definitely assuming that she will be found… probably in a taxi… at fifty four minutes past the hour.
      Hope you have an inspiring evening.

      Like

    • Hi Audrey… It’s really good to hear from you and I thank you for being here.
      Hmm… “Wordage”… Some would say ‘long winded’ or perhaps ‘His poems are too damned long’ or perhaps something a little harsher. I know… I get started and can’t stop. Sometimes I think I could just continue on a particular subject for days, page after page, but who then would read it? I guess you can tell why I don’t post anything on facebook. It seems to me that facebook fans only read about three or four lines before they lose interest. I’d have no friends and certainly no followers there. Thank goodness for friends like you who will suffer through my …..umm… ‘wordage’… and still have the compassion to press the like button and to comment…. And I thank you profusely. Have a wonderfully enlightened evening.

      Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

