First Attempts at Haiku

P1000047

First of all, let me just say that I don’t understand Haiku.  What is the purpose and who the heck came up with it anyway.  For those of you who enjoy it, write it, swear by it, long for it, and would have their feelings hurt if someone criticized it, I apologize for this post.  (not really, I just said that because I thought that I should, so that all you Haiku lovers won’t punish me and punch the un-follow button)  You must know that the Haiku rhythm is just wrong.  It doesn’t flow properly when you read it.  It’s just an odd duck in the poetry genre.  The definition of Haiku…

Noun, plural haiku
A major form of Japanese verse, written in 17 syllables divided into 3 lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables, and employing highly evocative allusions and comparisons, often on the subject of nature or one of the seasons.

Now let me ask you… How many Haiku’s have you read lately that actually fit that definition?  I’ve read many, many of these poems on wordpress and beyond, and some of them, even a great number of them are very good poetry expressed in the 5, 7, 5 form, some I have found to be absolutely beautiful.    However, most don’t fit the above description.

So… I thought I would try my hand at writing some of my own Haiku’s… just for fun.  Mine don’t fit the above definition either except for the 5, 7, 5 part, and I don’t think that anyone will find these to be absolutely beautiful.  Unusual perhaps…  Please read them with your sense of humor turned on.

Your comments will enlighten me…

Once upon a time
Tried to write a haiku rhyme
But it never chimed

I think that haiku
Is really kind of cuckoo
Lest it’s in a clock

Sent me to the farm
It wasn’t very funny
We’re the animals

Haiku poems are fun
Writing Haiku makes me laugh
Laughing hyenas

Haiku stinks… me thinks
As I look from tops of trees
There’s monkeys up here

Profoundly, I think
Haiku poems don’t have no rhyme
Wind blows… profoundly

The following haikus were written
On Halloween day… just for fun…

A little haiku humor for halloweenie

You unzipped your pants
Showed me your halloweenie
I beat you to death

A ghost in my yard
A beast climbed through my window
My dog ate them both

You said trick or treat
I said you could kiss my seat
You ran from my door

You soaped my window
I put you in my oven
Tasted like chicken

You dropped your candy
You stooped down to pick it up
Oddly… I helped you

© 2014 All Rights Reserved

Oddly… I’m done now…
By the author just below
Michael33

19 thoughts on “First Attempts at Haiku

  1. The terms of the Haiku
    Leave me kinda of like a sucker
    Sticky, sickly never happy…

    I have never managed to get my head around this type poetry… give me that which reads and flows, that grabs me by my toes and I’m a happy chappy…

    Like

    • Me too, Bulldog. Write it from the heart and I’ll like it. You do quite a fine job of writing yourself. Maybe you and I should just stay away from formalities like haiku… Thanks for taking the time to comment. I always enjoy what you have to say. It enlightens my day…

      Like

    • Oh, Lily… you’ve honored me greatly if I have motivated you to give poetry a try. I’ll certainly be looking forward to reading them. I think writing is great therapy for all kinds of reasons so go ahead… give it a try… and thank you so much for visiting and commenting. Interaction is my favorite part of this. Have a beautiful Saturday evening…

      Like

  2. hi michael,

    i can appreciate your tenacity to write haiku. i, too, have been apprehensive about “formal” poetry. however, i have a good friend who wrote haiku for a year and, from what he tells of his experience, has developed a great love for saying a lot with fewer words. i believe he described it as, “discipline…”

    my friend’s name is tshombe sekou, and he’s one of my favorite poets. you can find some of his work here on wordpress at: http://tshombeisms.wordpress.com/ and also on his website at: http://www.tshombeisms.com/

    Like

    • Thanks Nissi… I’ll certainly check it out. As far as discipline in my poetry length… I think some of mine could have gone on into infinity. My challenge is to keep the reader interested enough to make it to the end… I tried haiku for fun and because I think it’s a weird rhythm, but I did have fun with it. Thanks for letting me know about tshombe sekou… That’s a very intriguing name.
      I love checking out new and interesting sites.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Big smiles at your poetry, And Shusssssssh.. don’t tell anyone either .. ( Promise)… I read many a Haiku, and some are great.. some I just do not get at all..
    But it would not do all to be the same.. I enjoyed your Farm animals one… 🙂 Very ‘Funny’..
    I enjoy writing poems.. But prefer my poems to rhyme .. 🙂
    Great Post..
    And Well done at your first attempts.. 🙂 ❤ Sue

    Like

    • I enjoy a great number of other peoples haiku’s also… However, I truly thought that I would receive at least a little objection from those firm believers in it… because I was poking a little fun at the style. I guess they must have read my post, “The Finger” and determined that I poked a little fun at a lot of things. I’m glad most of my readers have a sense of humor… Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to do so. I just love this part of the blog world… the interaction between us is wonderful.

      Liked by 1 person

    • You are a very kind soul. I had a great deal of fun writing them. I’m just glad to find that at least some of my readers have a sense of humor. Thank you for taking the time to comment… Have a beautiful evening…

      Liked by 1 person

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

