Passing By…

Passing By…

 
She stops and talks each day
At the edge of the road
On her journey to nowhere…
Claiming that it is her health
That takes her along the wandering path,
Past houses of those she has yet to meet,
Appearing to be in relatively good health
For a person of her age…
 
Perhaps it is the loneliness
That brings her here…
Past my house…
I suppose it could be that she just enjoys
Observing the grass that’s turning to umber
Or watching the brittle leaves
Fluttering in the wind
On their journey to a new life…
 
Perhaps it is the kittens lingering in the yard
Playfully chasing their tails,
That brings her by each day…
While proclaiming no affection
Toward the furry felines…
 
Perhaps it is the light
That is always shining…
In search of those
Who have lost their way…
That brings her near
 
She speaks kindly, attempting to avoid
The meeting of our eyes
As if a fragment of ambivalence
Possesses her comportment…
Intertwined with the disquietude
Of wonder…
 
She pats herself on the back
As she insures the awareness
Of her service to humanity…
While I could have patted her back
For her if I my precognition had
Been engaged…
 
She takes a couple of steps
Toward her loneliness
As if needing to hurry
Back to the emptiness
From whence she came…
 
I can feel the lonely heartbreak
Upon her saddened face
In search of something
She presumes is lost…
A soul that’s wandered
Past her comprehension…
When in fact…
He is standing right beside her…
Smiling…

Copyright © 2014 All Rights Reserved

If you see me passing by…
Please be kind…

Michael33

10 thoughts on “Passing By…

    • Yes, I am confident that you would be there with hugs and smiles. You have such a compassionate soul… (although I’m sure you would never admit to it) It’s good to have your comments back but I’m still anxious to start reading your posts… Have a wonderful day Tina…

      Like

      • Ha ha, but I’m back on the road again. Holed up in Columbia at the moment. My son is graduating over at Fort Jackson so we’re in for the rest of the week.

        Like

    • Thank you bulldog… I’d enjoy that immensely. Perhaps I could see some of those beautiful photos that haven’t made it into your posts as yet. However, we both know that if you see me passing by your house, I’ve walked way beyond my limits…. I always enjoy your comments… thank you so much for taking the time to do so.

      Like

    • Good morning Sue. Thank you for your kindness. I do SEE much in those faces and in the eyes, as I feel certain that you do also. The problem is that most people don’t take the time or put forth the effort to look deep enough into those faces or into their eyes to SEE what’s inside. Through several misfortunes… I’ve been very “fortunate” to be able to slow down and take time to actually observe and absorb what many are too busy to notice. I know from my many visits to your own site that you possess an enlightenment that you readily share with all who are searching, and we thank you…
      Have a beautiful day…

      Like

    • I know what you mean. However… always remember that if you pass by my house, I’ll be more than anxious to have a wonderful conversation or to offer a hand if needed. Hopefully there are a lot more people with that attitude that line our pathways… Thank you so much for your comments. The interaction between us is what I love the most.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love the interaction as well. I work as a private tutor from 3:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m. (central time) so I generally read and comment in late morning and late evening. There is something very familiar and compelling about your writing style. I’ve had an enjoyable time reading tonight. Oh, I do like to 🙂 I hope you don’t mind.

        Liked by 1 person

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

