“Cold Hard Facts”

Cold Hard Facts

I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for all who have tolerated

my rather warped sense of humor and still support my writing.  It’s not

everyday that you get to read poetry about a chicken and it’s not everday

that I sit pondering chicken poetry…(lucky for my readers)  but it was fun to write.

Tonight’s post was written in response to a challenge on another site and

with luck, it will make it’s way onto their site as well….

Hope you enjoy “Cold Hard Facts”…

“Cold Hard Facts”

 
Wiping the perspiration from my brow
Sitting here in the coldness of your heart
Wondering how I could possibly feel the heat
Alongside your frigid soul
 
Only yesterday you professed your
Profound desire for my love…
Yet – today I find you here amongst the passionflower,
Entangled in the vines of your
Profligated desires
 
As you walk out my door
And into the yard…
I can see your breath as a cold fog
Although the sun is shining brightly
On this warm day of December
 
Frost is forming beneath your feet
With each step that you take
Away from me…
I can only suppose from the bitter cold that
Dwells within you
 
I must join those who have warned me
Of your desires for wandering
Amongst the frozen tundra
In your nakedness…
Hidden from those who have cared so
Deeply for your being…
Yet have suffered so profoundly from the ice
That creeps so perniciously through
Your veins
 
I must find my own pathway to survival
Without you inside my heart…
Although my thoughts of you in this very moment
Are far less than honorable…
I will not linger in my reflections of you
For I have endured the cold many times before…
I have had my heart shattered in the past
By the cold hard facts of reality…
While I lingered in moments of my illusions
That I was truly loved…
 
Be careful with whom you wander…
Across the frozen ponds of your delusive heart…
Your nakedness may someday feel the cold…
And frostbite hurts…

Copyright © All Rights Reserved

Be careful while you wander across
Those frozen ponds…

Have a warm pleasant evening…

Michael33

9 thoughts on ““Cold Hard Facts”

  1. I must find my own pathway to survival
    Without you inside my heart…
    Although my thoughts of you in this very moment
    Are far less than honorable…
    I will not linger in my reflections of you
    For I have endured the cold many times before…
    I have had my heart shattered in the past
    By the cold hard facts of reality…
    While I lingered in moments of my illusions
    That I was truly loved…
     

    More than anything else you do deserve to mingle with those who keep you warm, Michael. I know this pain. There is risk when we love wholeheartedly.

    Like

  2. Good evening Audrey. Good to hear from you. It saddens me that you know that kind of pain. I guess the hardest part of that process is the “I will not linger in my reflections of you”… Easily put into words – exceptionally difficult in reality. Hope you are having a beautiful Sunday evening and thanks for taking the time to visit and to interact. It just makes the day a little brighter…
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: “Cold Hard Facts” (Challenge #1) | Fluency

  4. Michael, please don’t apologize for interjecting a little humor into art. It’s seems to have become a taboo in the arts to face the world with a courageous smile. I truly believe with the thousands of sad stories from nearly 20 years working in social services still ricocheting through my soul, I would die from sorrow in a day without humor. I also know in the same way, there are far more fake frowns than smiles out there.

    Anyway, to your poem – it’s very sad, but I think a person who manages the cold well will stick it out with you through the bad times as well the good. You may have a sunny day lover here instead.

    Like

    • Good evening Laine – Hope you’re having a beautiful Monday evening. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I don’t know how you even have a sense of humor after twenty years of social services. I’m certain that it provided you with well more than your share of sadness. Maybe I should write cheerful poetry more often. Some people have had way too much sadness already. Glad to have you visit once again. I’m honored.

      Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

