The Un-Ordinary Post

Awaiting the Dawn

Awaiting the Dawn

The Un-Ordinary Post

This is not poetry… or perhaps it is.  I apologize for its length.
I don’t however apologize for its content.

Good morning,

It is Tuesday.  Not just any ordinary Tuesday, but it is ‘this’ Tuesday.  A day of specialness within me.  Not because it just happens to be the Tuesday before thanksgiving, for my emotions are quite mixed and confused as to the concepts of celebration of ‘thanksgiving’.  Although I also feel that anything that brings families together in conversations, love and kindness is something of magnificence.
 
This Tuesday is bathed in magnificence for reasons far separated from any pilgrimage.  It is a Tuesday that I have been fortunate enough to experience.  Awakening this Tuesday morning  with far more stress factors than what is listed on many psychological web sites, beyond the level that most often will destroy your mind as well as your physical existence and in addition having to deal with not one… but two life threatening and nearly always fatal diseases, three months beyond the prognosis of my survival, un-operatable and most often incurable by any known human means, I am sitting here in my chair before the window, awaiting the exhilaration of the first moment of dawn on this most glorious of days… Tuesday.  Although there are those who may dispute the well being of my mind.
 
Medical analysis, theoretical observations and the statistical law of averages, all indicate that on this Tuesday in November, that I should no longer be in existence within this world… much less maintaining the ability to sit before the window and anticipate the beauty of dawn.  I must pause while I linger in the knowledge that I have been presented with this most precious of gifts.  Yet… It fills me with great wonder.  Why would such a gift be presented from the universe unto one of such an ordinary existence?
 
I am poor… far beneath the levels required for financial survival.  My resources have dwindled into nothingness, absorbed by the medical professionals that have determined that, in reality, there is nothing further within their vast knowledge or within modern technology that can be used to benefit my physical survival.  Yet… I am here, awaiting the dawn.

 I am seeking only enlightenment… Is that why I have been given this opportunity to await the dawn?
I am only pursuing my desire to share love and kindness with those whom I encounter within my current existence.  Is that why I have been given this moment to bathe in the first light of dawn?
 
Perhaps I have been spared until this moment in time because I write of sadness that has at times encompassed my being.  Perhaps it is the darkness of which I have presented to the world that has on occasion engulfed my mind and my soul.  It must be the injustices of which I have written that has justified the universe to spare my departure from this world.
 
Maybe it is my dedication to enlighten others of the abuse that occurs in our world or the mistreatment of other beings like the abuse of women, domestic abuse, child abuse, animal abuse, discrimination of any kind… or how our veterans and elderly are so often pushed aside so undeservedly.
 
Perhaps it is that I speak so often of love…
That would be the most logical explanation for the universe to shine its light upon me within my life of such ordinary circumstances.  Love of one another, of all beings and of all creatures has always been the answer to the understanding of our world, yet… it too is so often cast aside.
 
Perhaps I should not attempt to understand the reasoning of the universe and what decisions are made far beyond my control or my expectations.
 
So I will ask all of you who have made it this far through this most
un-ordinary rant, whether you be an extrovert or an introvert or caught within the realms of the ordinary… to join me in my celebration of this most beautiful Tuesday… by sharing the love that is within you and shining your light upon another, so that they too, may feel the exhilaration of feeling that they are loved.  It will enlighten the both of you and perhaps… the dawning of tomorrow will be a little brighter for the world.
 
Namasté
 
 
Wait just a moment…..
The light of dawn has shined through my window and onto my face, igniting my reasoning to a greater level… The reason I’m still around on this beautiful Tuesday morning… to absorb the magnificence of the dawn… is perhaps… just perhaps… because I made the universe smile…
With that chicken poem….

Michael33

28 thoughts on “The Un-Ordinary Post

  1. What???? I cannot believe what I have just read… let me rephrase that,… I don’t want to believe what I’ve just read…
    The poetry and fun that emanates from your site, comes to us thanks to borrowed time???
    Well if that be the case,… I hope that rising sun shines in to greet your face for just so many many more mornings… Is that a selfish request??… maybe, I haven’t been following you for long and I wish it to continue for a long time to come…

    Like

    • Good morning bulldog – Thank you so much for the hope of many more mornings of rising suns. Your hopes must be very affective, for I am once again able to await the new dawn this morning. As far as ‘borrowed time’ goes, sounds very poetic to me, so you have probably just inspired a new poem for me to ponder. Your request for my posts to continue – is to me an honor, not a selfish request and I thank you sincerely. As far as your wish??? You should always be careful what you wish for bulldog… I could be slinging my poems your direction for quite some time to come. I love beating the odds and informing prognosticators that they shouldn’t make predictions concerning one’s life. Just gives me more reason to keep writing my poetry and looking forward to finding those beautiful pictures on your site.
      Have a beautiful day and thanks for spreading your inspirations in my direction…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL! Well, I know you made me laugh with the chicken poem. BTW – ‘Laughter is the best medicine’ is more than an old wives’ tale. It’s been researched to have major health benefits. None of us know the minutes we have left, but I know the minutes I spend reading your blog are not wasted 🙂

    Like

    • That’s so sweet Laine – thank you so much. So much of my poetry is of the more serious – darkness, sadness, abuse – that I just think it’s necessary to throw in something funny or perhaps in the case of the poultry poetry… something rather stupid. I write many that I sit and laugh out loud at, but they’re not ever going to see the light of the blogging world for a variety of reasons. Yes, laughter is a wonderful natural medicine that can do great things for our minds and our spirits and often even our physical well being. I’ve also found that writing everyday is perhaps my greatest therapy, while the interaction between all of us who wander the many pages of wordpress, is one of my most enjoyable experiences. So – I thank you very much for taking the time to comment. I’m glad the chicken poem brought you laughter and I feel certain that another of those strangely enlightening humorous moments will strike again soon.
      Have a wonderful day…

      Like

    • Good morning Audrey – I am truly honored for you to place me into the ‘special’ category, but perhaps you should consider other terms, like strange, odd, or unusually disturbed. They might actually be a better fit for me. You know how I feel about the hugs… they have wonderful healing capabilities. As a matter of fact, I have felt many of your hugs in addition to those that you have written… and I thank you. If I can make you smile, then I’m doing something right.
      Have a most beautiful day Audrey – and thank you.

      Like

  3. Thanks for sharing your story. I am so moved. Your words just capture so much. I am sitting in my living room waiting for dawn. I feel so connected to your words. It is making me feel so alive and has put a smile on my face. You have a great talent for words and I am glad that I have found your blog. Much peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning Janetcate – Your comments have stirred my soul this morning while I too, was sitting in my chair awaiting the dawn. I started thinking about how beautiful an experience it would be to have the whole world pause in their busy lives, while they await the dawn and ponder peace throughout the world. Maybe we would all feel that connection and there would be a tremendous increase in the love we have to share. Your ‘own’ words have brightened my day this morning, with the light of dawn obscured behind the grey winter clouds, you have spread the sunlight into my morning and I thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Michael, as I had promised in my reply, I came here to discover your work, and I discovered this… I am so sorry you have to live counting the dawns (although you do that in such a noble, loving way); your strength is important and is something that no prognosticator can evaluate. You know, according to doctors, my grandfather should have died 15 years ago; and yet he is still with us! I wish you to keep your strength and your attention to the poetry of life, these are precious gifts and always, always, an amazing therapy! Amitiés, Adina

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning Adina – I’m very honored that you visited me here. I do however write on other subjects, so I hope you’ll investigate a little beyond this rant of mine. I am truly happy that I can count the dawns – it is my favorite time of day and I get out of bed everyday before the dawn just so I can enjoy its beauty and the magnificent colors it creates. It benefits me in so many ways. Peacefulness reigns in those moments. Thank you so much for dropping by and I will be continuing to enjoy your site.
      Have a beautiful day and “Amitiés” to you as well…
      Michael

      Like

  5. I am sorrowful for your feelings of loneliness. I have often felt alone in a room full of people. The holidays are typical for that.
    I see that you feel alone in your mental suffering over an unfair deal of the cards. It is unfair. You are gifted and compassionate. A light in the midst of darkness.
    My thoughts are with you so that you are not truly alone. We are all connected.
    Each and every one of us is hurt by another’s pain, even if the other person is across the world.
    I am with you as you value the little things and the beauty of nature and poetry.
    Your spirit is alive and will remain a significant light forever.
    Connect with me anytime. Lately my insomnia has me awake until 4am.
    Love,
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning Annie – I am honored and humbled by your most generous words. Sorry to hear about the insomnia. I have found that writing is by far the greatest therapy for many, many things. Hopefully it will work for you as well. I am again unusual in that I don’t like to sleep. I’ve always thought that sleep was a waste of time and that it just prevented me from doing something important – even if that something is reading or writing or perhaps even doing nothing. Therefore, I don’t sleep much either, but the difference is that mine is by choice and sometimes my mind reminds me that evading sleep is not an intelligent thing to do. I hope you have an absolutely beautiful day Annie and thank you so much for the interaction between us.
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

  6. “What is to give light must endure burning.” Michael, your beautiful Tuesday made me think of this Viktor Frankl quote. You give much light as you continue to endure much burning. The world needs light and that may be why we are lucky enough to have you with us. Now I must find that chicken poem! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning – I love that quote. It is beautiful. Your comments and your posts are always filled with such kindness and compassion that you too, must be ablaze for I am continually
      En-‘light’-ened by your words and I thank you. Hope you have a magnificent day.
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Michael, Dawn brings with it, its own enlightenment.. And you are far from Ordinary, and this post is far from the Un-ordinary post..
    You come alive within the Moment!.. and we have all so longed to Be in that moment.. The moment that we discover our Being is far removed from who we were..
    You Shine as the Dawn Light shines through your window to light up your face.. And you know beyond the pain that your Light will forever keep on shining.. You are here to spread your knowledge and leave your light in bringing awareness to others..

    And you are doing a remarkable job.. We don’t always need the professional medical teams as wonderful as they are to put time limits upon our existence.. Because we can all and are all capable of breaking records as we unfold our own inner Miracles of Self healing…

    Your writing is all part of that process.. Your Tuesday Morning is Like no other… Because you embraced the NOW of your moment in it..

    Blessings sent your way
    Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning Sue – As I sit here reading this morning – the morning sun drifting through my window and shining its warmth and beauty upon my face – I find myself at a loss for words to respond to yours of such magnificence. Your comments are so poetic, standing alone but not lost within my comments section and I am sincerely grateful to have them captured in my heart. Thank you for brightening my day…
      Hope your day is a beautiful experience…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

      • May the Sun continue to light your day and May it always bring a smile to your face.. Your response sent a beam into my own misty grey morning of Autumns Greys… 🙂
        Enjoy Thanksgiving.. 🙂

        Like

  8. I’m very sorry to hear about your health Michael but from your ‘about the author’ poem I think I already knew things hadn’t been so good. Your words and poems definitely move into the metaphysical – much is coming from your soul. This may make no sense whatsoever to you.. and it’s not personal, but sadly I have had to stop reading your poems because some of them make me hurt for many reasons and stay with me too long on a psychic level.

    I just sense a lot .. and I’m a terrible fixer. It’s painful to be able to pick up so many things and ‘think’ I can help someone with that information. It’s something I still have to learn how to handle. I wish you great blessings and joy always Michael, SilverGirl

    Like

  9. After a period of absence I have been looking forward to visiting your site and rekindling with your poetry. As usual, none of it disappoints, except to hear of your heartache. Your presence here is such a gift; your inspiring words and your love of poetry keeps shining through each post. I look forward to many more dawns with you. This Sunday in Tasmania was particularly wonderful, I am sorry I missed this particular Tuesday, but I still think there are many more to come. Bless to you through these tough times.

    Like

    • Good morning Mim – What beautiful words to enjoy with my first cup of coffee this morning. There is nothing like having someone brighten your day with the very first words you read. I’m very glad that your Sunday was wonderful. My Sunday is just beginning and if reading your comments is any indication of how my day will be, then I too am in for a particularly wonderful Sunday. It appears that your evening is probably coming to a close as my morning is only beginning, so instead of telling you good morning, perhaps I should wish for you a peaceful sleep and enchanting dreams… and I thank you for your kindness…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

      • The old timezone differences, quite a special thing being able to communicate in this day and age. I thank you for your time with me. People seem to connect sometimes, through the most unlikely of ways. As I am ending this rather frustrating day, I bid you a good one and hope you are also rested after your sleep 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you, thank you, thank you for these words. Your passion has invigorated me today. I shall think of you when I’m not appreciating the glory of living, in hopes to reignite the truth of the opportunities which continued existence provides me with.

    Like

    • Hi Shaina Ariane – What a nice thing to say. Anytime we writers invigorate someone, we’ve accomplished our goal. I’ve spent quite a while on your site this afternoon and have been most delighted in my visit. I loved your videos. While I watched them, it was like I was there enjoying your relaxed, real, down to earth presentation and we were both enjoying the music without pain. Of course, I’ll be looking forward to some new posts soon. You may have even encouraged me to dust off my guitar and play along with you. (My guitar looks kind of like your description of those ceiling fan blades that you mentioned in one of your posts)… Thank you so much for visiting and I know you’ll find other posts of mine that you will be able to relate to quite well. Don’t be a stranger here… you can wear your ‘Official Visitor’ sticker here also…
      Have a wonderful evening…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

