“Fool on the Floor”

photo credit: Gene1138 via photopin cc

photo credit: Gene1138 via photopin cc

The Fool on the Floor
 
As I dreamt of you within my silence
Your wanderlust having left my
Flesh as fodder for wolves…
I still linger within the longing
For your touch…

For I am a fool which hath
No boundaries of love
Nor self respecting ideals
That would prevent me from
Laying down my physicality across
Your muddied pathway,
So that you may once again
Tread upon my soul…
 
The smirk within your countenance
Dissuades me not from my pursuit
Of what you pretend as a sardonic disposition…
For I am without barriers that would block
My vision into your most mesmeric inner being
That you so proudly eclipse from those
Who long to touch your soul…
For I am no fool to be deluded
By your semblance of a termagant…
Although you have shown unmitigated
Transcendence in your portrayal of such…
 
You may once again castigate me
With your idioms of derogation…
But I will no longer quiver from your
Verbal abuse…
Perhaps I am that fool that you have
Proclaimed me to be,
Yet, I am still within the sound of your words
Feeling as though you still love me…
Knowing that you must care for me
Within your own obscured desires…
 
I’m watching you pack your belongings
Into all those brown paper bags
That once held the pieces of all the
Knick knacks that once lined our shelves…
Before you slammed them against the wall…
Do those memories mean nothing to you?
Was our time together nothing more than
Fodder for the wolves?
 
As once again, you head for the door…
I presume once again
For the last time…
I will stand in your way…
Until again, you knock me to the floor
And walk over my limp and lifeless soul…
Leaving the door wide open behind you
For the wolves to devour me…
While in my unconsciousness…
 
When I awaken upon the cold hard
Planks of maple…
I know that I will have dreamt of you…
For I am a fool which hath
No boundaries of love,
Nor self respecting ideals…
As I linger within the longing
For your touch…
While my nearsighted soul
Provides fodder for wolves…

© 2014

And when I awaken…
I know that I will have dreamt of you…

Michael33

16 thoughts on ““Fool on the Floor”

    • Hi Laine – I must say that your comment is most unusual and of course, as you have probably come to find out, I love the unusual. I must add this one to my “Unusual comments” folder for safe keeping. Those of us who have been filled with sadness (which most of us have) at one time or another, are going to express that sadness in one form or another. I choose to express mine within my poetry. It keeps me from expressing it in other, more undesirable forms. It is what keeps me from a totally disturbed mind. This way, I can remain only partially disturbed. I do so appreciate your attempt of offering me hope… any form of hope is always welcome – as are your visits and comments… and I thank you.
      Hope you have a beautiful evening and enjoy the holidays…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nothing too mysterious here, Michael. Sometimes it’s hard to find hope in a direction I’ve seen as a road to destruction. If you find therapy in poetry than I hope healing for you. Love is much too simple to plot the agony you have experienced, and it is all around you. I hope its innocence will console you.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. It ain’t love unless it slays you.

    I love the the honesty and rawness.

    💃 your poem’s got me dancin’ ~ it’s vulnerability, a celebration of the soul’s willingness to be naked in its expression.

    Like

    • Good afternoon Danica – Thank you for your wonderful comments. Obviously, those wolves haven’t gotten to my fingers yet, because I’m still putting words on the page. Speaking of wonderful imagery… I just had a great vision of your friend helping the man with the shopping cart out of the crosswalk. Wonderful post…
      Have a great evening Danica and thanks for taking the time to pass along your encouraging words…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! How did I miss this Michael? This is so rich with amazing words that provide surreal images in my mind.. You always write from the poet’s heart that lies within you… To me: that is what a poet or poetess is.. I stand in awe of you likewise.. Peace, caro

    Like

    • You missed it because it was lingering in the darkness
      Guarded by wolves from other worlds…
      Protecting your flesh from becoming the fodder
      Or perhaps from becoming a fool
      That hath no boundaries of love…
      Okay, you know how I am – I get started and can’t quit… Just seem to be in one of those poetic modes, unable to escape… I may just be in that mood due to my recent return from reading the poetry of an enchanted poetess that spills her heart upon the pages of your site…
      Thank you for your beautiful words… we shall stand in awe together…
      Peace to you also…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow this is so sad and I hope to never be anyone’s fodder. I think the unsuspecting love does that it throws all of itself not realizing we give them weapons to destroy you later when your heart is surrendered and open not realizing you needed to guard it! I felt all of this! I’ve felt it recently and after picking myself up off that floor realized I needed to stop this madness! I almost went there again recently but still remember the sting from the last time! And so it goes…..

    Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

