The Letter

For Dragonfly

My Dearest Dragonfly

I never would have found him
If not for dear you…
Passing through his shallow breath
Before death could find him…
Sitting at his table of cracked cobblestone…
Three legs of wood and one of bone…
His elbow resting upon a most
Unusual plank of cedar
Now oddly warped from years of spilled whiskey…
Eyes too misty to wipe it dry…

Shards of stone lie untouched
Beneath the table…
Fabled to dwell there amongst the shivers
Of his shattered heart
Hardened like the clay that’s dried
When denied too long from the potter’s wheel

His pen and his parchment
Always before him
Naked of runes as of late…
While the fate of the rhyme
Once of ordinary
Now evades his jaded mind
Twined with the disquietude of his soul…

His careless disregard
For your knock on the door
A chore far beyond his inclination…
Would sorely have taken his breath
In death…
If not for your touch of his face…

When you, dear you,
Passed through the doorway
Wading through the crumpled bits of paper
Where vapors of brilliance once lingered…
Finding his fingers firm on the flagon…
Eyes focused on amber broth
Froth upon the cedar…
His senses stirred,,,

Taking his hand into yours
His consciousness sensed
The scent of your essence
As the dawn blushed through sullied glass…
Your delicate voice like the whisper of angels
To one without love…

You carried him from the depths of darkness
From his artless frame of mind
More kind than he remembered as of late…
His fate now stands before you
In this rhyme of diffidence…
With temerity of hope
Within his soul…

You must know by now of whom I speak…
For the one you found was me…
Nearing mortal slumber
With hunger for nothing but drink…
You brought me the light of your smile…
While never casting judgment
Of my peculiarities…
You have shown me love
Far above what I had ever known
Before you…

As I scribe these words before your eyes
In this letter of my most humbled gratitude…
For quietude of mind
With whispered breath…
In the moment of your touch
My eyes were opened…
Unspoken words upon the page
No longer crinkled on the shelf
With scrawls of splintered ink…
For in the blink of that very moment…
I found myself…

Although my words may pause upon the page…
Love unspoken lingers in my heart…
All the work of art
Of dear you…
Dear beautiful you…

My love…

Michael33

Copyright © 2015 All Rights Reserved

12 thoughts on “The Letter

  1. A wonderful letter.. and heartfelt words of someone saved from himself by Love.. A Power beyond all others which enables us to heal from what ever ills we suffer from..

    Love and Blessings to you Michael..
    Sue x

    Like

    • Good evening Sue… Glad you liked the letter. Actually, saving me from myself is a never ending battle… but life continues to be interesting… Love and blessing to you as well Sue and thank you for brightening my day…
      Michael

      Like

    • Yes… sometimes… she is lucky to have me… sometimes she might like to put me back where she found me. It’s not hard for anyone to realize who the truly lucky one is… Thank you for the hugs. You just don’t know how often they bring me tranquility…
      Hope tomorrow brings you a most ‘audacious dawn’…
      Michael

      Like

    • Good evening Wendell and thanks for dropping by. Glad you enjoyed it. Just returned from a visit to your beautiful site. Can’t wait to linger there awhile and wander through your inspirations…
      Hope your evening is most enlightening…
      Michael

      Like

  2. Wow! Thats almost a beautiful as she is! It sure opens my eyes too. I’ve always known you absolutely adore her and her you but now I can see more intimately into your adoration for each other. And must say im the lucky one cause i am loved by both of you amazing people!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yet words alone cannot explicate truths of what is beautiful… but can inspire the perceptions of the omniscient soul… Thank you ‘urfavrit’… glad you dropped by. Perhaps you should emanate your humanness before your antecedents… lest the dawning of another fortnight passes into nether…
      Hope your evening is most beautiful

      Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

