Heart of the Matter

Photo by Betty Bell Sanders 1952

Photo by Betty Bell Sanders 1952

Heart of the Matter

Wandering into the mist
I saw you there, amongst the primrose
Your face bedewed with sadness
As if you had forever wept with the willows…
The meadowlark standing in silence
On the branch of the oak
Swaying gently in the breeze
Awaiting your song to blend his harmony…
Yet, you did not utter a single sound…
Lost within your quietude…
Torn between your heart
And cerebration…

But perhaps the answer lies
Within your soul…
The soul is all that speaks to us
Of truths…
Of wisdom…
Of life…
Of love…
For it comprehends the light
Of hidden treasure
Where innermost depths of love
Are truly borne…

Wandering through the brume
I heard your voice
Drift slowly across the snow capped hills…
Like angels whispering through Junipers
In Echo Canyon…
I watched as wisps of your auburn hair
Brushed airily your face
Efflorescing in the gentle breeze
Kissed by the wings of sparrows…
Hazel eyes longing
For what has always been there
Waiting…
Waiting for your heart to find
What your soul has always known…

For it is not of peculiar circumstance…
Writings of the wanderer
Who has lost her way
In virtuous wonder of love
And zoetic verse…
Attempting intellection without vision
Of destiny’s child…

Yet, fate of what is wondrous
Awaits you within your vision…
Where your heart has always lingered…
Where your mind finds peace
Within itself…
Where your soul rests gently
In the love of being…
Where your light shines so beautifully
In its magnificence…
Of being you…

Michael33

30 thoughts on “Heart of the Matter

    • Thanks for dropping by oosorio… Glad you found it interesting… I’ve been wandering on your site this morning but my translator seems to have some bugs in it. When I get it straightened out, I’ll be there to read a while…

      Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t hope a beautiful thing… I ‘hope’ she felt as though it belonged to her when she read it…
      Hope your Monday is filled with beautiful enlightenment, Laine… Thanks for your wonderful comments… You always brighten my day…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi what a beautiful photo. I love the year on this. Don’t you love when a photo speaks softly like a whisper from the past and sets off all of this wonder of words? I do. I’m a bit speechless when I read this poem, though not for me it’s so wonderful to have something resonate and possibly explain what is shifting inside my heart! I want to save this one in my person journal if I may. What a journey this life is…sometimes it’s so painful, sometimes it’s wonderful and other times it is silently waiting for what I don’t know but you seem to know and at least someone does!
    I was going to come and visit you last night and I should have maybe I would have spared myself some heartache today! I’ve been trying to be more sensitive to that little nudge we get to visit and it was about 10pm last night and I couldn’t think what to do. I was feeling a bit lost and I thought of you and I should have come and all of this would have made sense to me then like it does now. I love this Michael. I hope you are okay…I tell you what kept me from coming was I have this fear of sharing too much! However, how can one heal unless you let the goodness of love overtake you! I don’t even know what to say this is so beautiful what you shared! I hope you have a gentle day! Warm gentle knowing hugs! I know this one.
    Micki

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning Micki… Ahh… but this may very well be for you after all… It belongs to all who let it resonate within their soul… It belongs to those who are wandering and wondering which pathway to follow… It belongs to those who cannot find the answer to the crossroads that stand before them… It belongs to those “feeling a little bit lost”… It is for those who may have forgotten that the most important thing to finding direction in life… is by finding yourself… We are drawn to someone because of the light that shines within them… the uniqueness of their soul… and love them just the way they are…
      So… it may very well… belong to you…
      Hope your Monday is magnificent, Micki… and thank you so much for our conversations…
      My day is always brighter when I hear from you…
      Michael

      Like

      • Hello sweet Michael. I have this feeling you and I are closer then you think maybe! This morning I went outside to pray and I raise my arms up and surrender my day and everyone to God and release all the negative energy sort of like yoga but like a prayer. I thought of you and sent you something but I asked for God to bless you today! It was interesting how you came to my mind. I actually did that because yesterday I worked so much till late. I’m working on Sept. 7 articles and was so tired I thought I was doing that to release that energy and I though of you! I hope you are okay as okay goes. I realize that is always relative. I wanted to stay a few extra minutes this morning to come find you! I won’t be posting while I’m writing and editing this week so I’ll just come here this way. I have your blog saved so I can pop in when I feel to.
        I love what you said about this may well belong to you! I can say I do feel lost but I’m happy to be lost. I like not knowing what’s next and that feeling of being lost well it’s sort of magical to me! I like being surprised. Whatever shows up I’m ready for it. I feel like this quiet place I’ve found to create has been like a wonderful gift. There is a lot I want to share with you and I really enjoy our conversations too! Today the sun really was not so bright maybe it’s tired of summer as well. It’s burning the fire out of us. Last weekend I was in Van Buren and it was like a sauna. Here in Ok it’s just hotter then hades! So we will seek shade today! yay! Have a gentle day sweet Michael friend! Happy Tuesday hugs to you! Be kind to yourself. That’s what I’m doing! Yay! Till later I remain in anticipation for the next. ☼ Micki

        Like

    • Thank you so very much Iris… It was very heartfelt and I was hopeful that it expressed that to all who reads it. I had a message to deliver and I hope that it was truly taken to ‘heart’… Thank you for giving me hope that it was and for brightening my day…
      Have a beautiful Monday…
      Michael

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Michael, once again, you have written a poem I can easily place myself inside.

    Waiting for your heart to find
    What your soul has always known…

    This is so true of me this moment, but I think you sense that, because of our ability to sense one another’s journey. Thank you for teaching me, throughout this poem, what I’ve easily forgotten. You are a treasure. I’m thankful to be part of your poetic family. (I easily throw myself into every poem you write and I envy your ability to help people find relevance of themselves inside your poetry. I work my redheaded self’s butt off to do it. And probably fail more than not.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know what they say about kindred souls… I just sent you an email in response to one of your comments on your site… In that comment I mentioned something I wanted you to consider when you read today’s post… At that very moment… you were here reading the post… We are so WEIRD… Sorry… didn’t mean to call YOU weird… Synchronicity is so wonderful… It’s like the universe “knows”…

      Like

  3. “Where your soul rests gently :: In the love of being… :: Where your light shines so beautifully :: In its magnificence… :: Of being you…”
    Incredible. I’d say “unbelievable”, but from you I’m beginning to find this type of artistry not only believable but expected. And that’s a little sad on my part, the “expected” part that is. One should never expect greatness – it places the expectant one in the vulnerable position of possibly being let down. But worse – it tries to put an unfair burden on the one from whom the greatness is expected. So I do apologize, but it still remains truth. Artistry from you – words that flow as well as paint exquisite scenes of life – this seems normal and natural.
    Maybe … if anything … I should be jealous ….
    🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so very much Marcus…. At this moment… having read your comments… My mind is at a loss for words… However, my heart still speaks… I am so very humbled and honored by your beautiful words and thank you so very much…
      But…. Jealous???
      Really???
      Have you read https://survivorroad.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/eve-of-forever-starcrossed/
      Now that’s some artistry… Beautifully written…
      Thank you so much for brightening my day, my spirit, and my inspiration…
      Michael

      Like

      • I’ve read the “Eve of Forever” … as I understand it – it was inspired (and possibly written) by the author’s three muses who will, on occasion, inspire/write something that moves even the author.
        And you are most welcome – as I thank you for your kind words as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I should mention … I suppose … if you pay attention to the rhythm pattern to “Eve of Forever” – you will find the number of syllables per stanza to be 12 (line 1) 18 (line 2) 5 (line 3) 12 (line 4). More apparent proof the authorship of muses …….

        Liked by 1 person

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

