Beneath the Sea

My beautiful picture

Beneath the Sea
 
I sailed away
Into the night
Upon a sloop of papyrus…
Into a fog so thickened in brume
That vision into the darkness
Was far beyond mortal comprehension…
There was nary a breeze
To carry me into the distance…
The silent, sightless night
Appeared to have abandoned time
Leaving a changeless, static semblance
The ambiance of a naked soul…
No sound from the wind
Nor that of the albatross
Nor even from the sea beneath me…

I could see nothing but the ebon of the night
Hidden deep within the cave of remembrance…
Darkness ladened upon me
As if the earth could no longer find the sun…
I wondered in that moment
If I would be witness to one more dawning of the morn…
Or awaken within the twilight
Of another world…
 
I stood in the quietude of reality
Hushed… upon the bow
In awakened meditations of the unnatural…
Where time does not exist…
Where pietistic silence
Consumes the marrow of one’s being…
Embalming the soul in wonder
Of what is real…
Of truths of a mortals existence
Longing for human vicissitude
Into worlds of immortality…
 
A flash of light in the distance
Translucent through the discountenance
Of my reality…
Perhaps lightning from the storm…
A bolt from Thor…
Perhaps the light of the gods
In search of lost souls…
 
Another flash from the sky
Igniting the sea in hues of crimson
Lingering on destiny’s horizon…
Shadows ascending from the glow
Perpetuating through the smother
Foreboding above the sloop
Like the vulture over his prey…
 
Yet, fear had not wept within my tears…
For I had wandered
The streams of consciousness
And flown without wings
To celestial bodies that
Linger not upon the parchment…
 
I have fallen beneath
The surface of the sea…
To depths where life
Exists for only the most
Un-ordinary of beings…
Perhaps a place where I would feel
Most at home…
If only I could breathe
                           Beneath the sea…

Michael33

Copyright © 2016

10 thoughts on “Beneath the Sea

    • Good morning Cindy… Thank you so much for brightening my day with your words. I spent many days on the beautiful Pacific in my younger years… and a good number of them in horrific storms… I’m glad you could feel the motion of the waves and the emotions of the moment…
      Hope your day is filled with beautiful moments…
      Michael

      Like

    • Good morning Nathalie. You truly know how to brighten my spirit. Thank you for your beautiful words. I do believe that many of my words do indeed flow from other worlds. These words a remembrance of moments from many days at sea… in search of those who had lost their way in the storm.
      Thank you for your ‘always’ encouraging words… That’s exactly what keeps me writing…
      Hope your day is most beautiful…
      Michael

      Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

