The Stranger in My Chair

aye-aye

Photograph by Unknown

The Stranger in my Chair

As I was dozing in my chair
On a most sunny Sunday afternoon
I suddenly realized that I was drifting
In the corner of the room
Near the ceiling
Looking down at the old fart
Dozing in my chair…
A stranger I did not recognize…
 
He didn’t appear to be aging well…
Or gracefully…
The wrinkles around his eyes
Beginning to resemble the canals
Of Thailand…
His hair turning gray in patches
As if there were perhaps
Warthogs in his ancestry…
His beard of mostly white
Looked as if the old man had fallen
Face first into a bucket of
Tom Sawyer’s whitewash…
His ears sticking out like those
Of an Aye-aye…
Perhaps a mere semblance of myself…
If I were as old as he…
 
I glanced around the room
In an attempt to determine
Just why I was lingering high
Against the ceiling of this room…
Watching an old man doze
In my favorite chair of all places…
Or was he dozing?
I could hear no breath
From his languished form…
Perhaps he wasn’t asleep at all
But had instead passed into
The realms of another world…
I looked around the room
Thinking that he too
May be adrift in the atmosphere
Lingering in wonderment
As was I…
But the room was void of others
In this moment
Floating weightlessly…
I… the only spook upon the ceiling…
 
Lingering in the moment…
In my own perplexity…
I pondered…
Searching frantically for a reasonable explanation…
Just a simple annotation of the moment…
And then I thought…………………………….
“Ohhhh, shit!”

Michael33

Copyright 2016

8 thoughts on “The Stranger in My Chair

    • Good morning Genie… Yes it does fit the out of body experience theory. I have had many… both intentional and unintentional… both are in their own light… beautiful… Hope to find you lingering in the ethereal world… I think you must wander there more often than you realize…
      Have a most beautiful Sunday…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi AmyRose…So good to hear from you. Yes the aging process is quite a unique and often entertaining experience… I’m very lucky to be able to look into the mirror with a sense of humor…
      Hope your reflections are most beautiful…
      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well… all that I can comment on is what I know… and what I know is that your photography and your writing is truly ‘most’ beautiful… and that in itself is a true ‘reflection’ of who you are… So perhaps you wear your ‘beautiful’ in many hues of color…

        Liked by 2 people

      • Ah, Michael, Bless you!!! Your words come precisely at the exact right moment for lately I have been experiencing high pain, lower back and legs, all due to what I believe is the change of seasons. To overcome I must rely on my adrenalin and movement to decrease the pain. And with your words whispering in my ears I will do that very thing. In fact today I deliberately plan on going for a hike bringing with me my camera equipment. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for encouraging me and expressing how you see me. So much gratutitude coming your way … Much Love, Amy ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

