Waiting for Wings

waiting-on-wings-4

Waiting for Wings

He stood beneath the lamplight
Just shadows of a man
Mumbles neath a shallow breath
That no one understands
 
Reaching out his withered hands
To touch the gentle rain
Searching for one loving word
To ease the brutish pain
 
Raindrops fell inside his palm
As winter bowed to spring
Peace appeared on languid eyes
Just waiting on his wings
 
Passersby with souls of fear
Heard mumbles turn to rhyme
Verses told from wisdom mused
In syncopated time
 
He stood beneath the lamplight
Embraced with silver strings
Poetry from marrow’s rain
Just waiting on his wings

Michael33

Copyright © 2016

6 thoughts on “Waiting for Wings

  1. This was so well written Michael. Both beautiful and sad at the same time..
    How are you? I have not visited you in a while, Hope I haven’t missed too many of your wonderful poems.. Sending thoughts your way my friend
    Sue ❤

    Like

  2. Hi Michael I had to come read your beautiful words tonight. They always make me smile. I didn’t comment on all of them but know I love them all.
    Along with this raindrops in hand I would gladly offer mine, 😄😄💕

    Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

