In the Breath of Wolves

the-breath-of-wolves-5

In the Breath of Wolves

It’s been a fortnight or two
Since the wolves howled
Near the edge of the prairie…
Hungry beneath the moonlight…
Eyes that glow through the thickened brush
Searching for those of imprudence

Paws… in their silence
Pressing quietly the forest floor…
Their mouths tasting the night air
As if the mist itself were filled
With the taste of ambrosia
Warm… against their tongues…

Twas midnight of the half moon
Shadows dancing neath the black oak…
Flutterring sounds from the wings of the wise
Evading the thirst of the hounds…
Sagacity roused in patience of time
Searching for the scent of innocence

It’s been a fortnight or two
Since the wolves howled
Near the edge of the wildflowers…
Hungry beneath the waxing moon…
Yet warm moist breath lingers in winter’s night
While the prairie bides in its silence

A breeze is stirring through the valley…
Willows crackling in the cold night air…
The distant sound of the nighthawk
Echoing across the meadow
As I stand in wonder on the edge of tomorrow…
Listening to the hush…
                                              before the howl…

Michael33

Thank you for dropping by and reading “In the Breath of Wolves”.  Now I would like to ask you to take the time to read it once again with the thought… that just perhaps… this poem is not about furry, four legged animals……….

May your day be filled with beautiful moments…  while “listening to the hush…”

Namasté

Copyright © 2017

22 thoughts on “In the Breath of Wolves

    • Yes… the howling will be loud and long, poeturja… but there will be those beautiful moments… when we can stand on the edge of tomorrow… listening to the hush….

      Having now visited your site… I am most assured that you have often lingered in the hush… for wisdom is not found within the howl…

      Thank you so much for dropping by… for following my poetry… and for taking the time to brighten my day with your comment…

      Hope your day is filled with beautiful moments…

      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes… indeed, blueangelwolf…

      “The deepest snows cover the heart’s greatest fire”
      Yet nothing can hide the true heart’s desire…

      Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to leave such an inspiring comment…

      May your day be most beautiful…

      Michael

      Like

    • Thanks Phoebe… I don’t know that I would say that ‘all’ my poems are beautiful… but I am going to linger in your words because they so brighten my day. My apologies for the ‘haunt’… the howl of the wolf… the distant train whistle echoing in the night… haunting sounds… and yet… they both seem to have a bit of romanticism that lingers in their voices…

      Hope your day is going well… Thank you for lifting my spirits… as you have done so many times before.

      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Chevvy… Yes… each moment “is” a blessing… yet… I am quite fond of the wolf… but then… you are familiar with my kinship with the animals… I am nearly certain that the howling wolf and I would be friends by morning’s light. You know… none of us spend enough time… lingering in the hush… or we would all be filled with wisdom far beyond this world… It’s a very busy world… seldom are we able to find true quietude… where we can bathe in that little voice… whispering inside…

      Most likely… I should add this comment in an email instead of in public view… but I’m old anyway… so let me just tell you that I have heard your whispers in the hush… I have felt your energy around me… and I thank you with all my heart for all your healing wishes… They traveled a very long way to find me… yet… they surround me so very often…

      May your day be most beautiful…

      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

      • Michael, you have me crying here in public, you naughty man😀 Thank you, thank you my dear friend. I sometimes feel that I can’t do enough when I reach out but I’m so happy if you’ve felt my energy since that is all I have to give to you so far away. And maybe, just maybe I here the wolves howl in the hush. You are right. We don’t listen enough to the quiet where the voice of our soul speaks. Love and Peace to you Michael.❤️

        Like

      • My apologies for making you cry in public. Certainly not my intention at all.

        Never feel that you can’t do enough… Reaching out to someone with whatever means are available to you… is the most beautiful expression of our humanness…

        You may not always recognize it… or perhaps… humility prevents you from ‘knowing’… but your soul speaks quite fluently and beautifully… for it has just offered to me… “Love and Peace”… and that is exactly what we as humans need to share the very most with one another…

        Thank you so much for being you…

        Love and Peace to you, Chevvy

        Michael

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah Michael, no need to apologise. I just wanted to communicate the emotion. I must thank you too for reinforcing that view that I hold, that we touch each other’s lives sometimes in ways we may never know 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  1. What I took from this the first read is the anthropomorphized wolf instead of human. I also saw the tainting of the innonence and the hushing of innocence. I may be wrong but that is what I interpreted. There are more nuances in the poem I could have written about but it suffices the main points for me have been written about

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love your analysis, Joseph. I think that most animals I come into contact seem to have some of those qualities… or perhaps… it is me who searches to find those qualities within them…

      “Sagacity roused in patience of time
      Searching for the scent of innocence”

      Where you so ‘sagaciously’ found the “tainting and hushing of innocence”…
      Thank you for wandering within my psychology… although… I must warn you…
      Most often… I wander within the realms of un-normal psychology…
      but perhaps… that is where you also wander…

      Thank you so much for the interaction… that is exactly what I love the most…\

      Have a most beautiful day and thank you for brightening mine…

      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You write of the valley and wildflowers and standing on the edge of tomorrow. I imagined the field of wild flowers behind my house and how it feels when it’s dark and I can’t see what is out there. There is a rush of excitement and also wonder. That’s what I felt when I read this! Lovely Michael! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Since I have had the pleasure to see the pics you have shared with me of your beautiful fields of wildflowers, I too imagine them whenever writing about them… but when I imagine “your” fields of gold… I can truly stand on the edge of tomorrow.

      The rush of excitement…
      the world of wonder…
      two of my favorite things…
      If I wandered in dreams
      of your fields of gold
      then what would tomorrow bring

      There I go again… poetry in my comments section…

      We never really know what lingers in the dark
      Yet the excitement and wonder of what we may find there…
      Can be most exhilarating….

      Glad you dropped by… “Always”…

      “Love”… your new gravatar… except… missing the ‘blue eyes’…

      Michael

      Like

      • Wow I love it when spontaneous poetry happens in the comments section! 😀 That made me smile.
        Thank you for the compliment about my blue eyes. You know they are a pale gray blue…interesting I think! More later on that! Micki ღ

        Liked by 1 person

      • Blue eyes transform into a most beautiful pale… gray… blue… when wisdom is gathered through the windows of the soul… Interesting… indeed! I’ll be looking forward to the “More later on that”… The walls of the “room” need decorating… Please feel free to express your most beautiful whispers in portraits upon the parchment…
        Michael

        Like

      • Wow and that wisdom begs to be expressed, yet is quieted by the soft breeze and the morning dawn. Like sending out love on the wings of prayers…I think maybe! Again you got me….expression on the portraits of parchment. Micki ღ

        Like

  3. This is a beautiful piece of writing Michael.. and I did read it twice.. yes their are many interpretations in the world for wolves..
    But I do so love our four-legged variety.. May we all spend time out in Nature tasting her air and beauty.. Before those other kind of wolves destroy it.. ❤

    Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

