Of Mortal Minds

Of Mortal Minds

Of Mortal Minds

Once again, the storms rumbled in the night
Awakening the most sound of sleepers
In the wee hours of the morn…
Wind howling through the trees
Through the cracks beneath the door
Like ghosts who’ve gathered
Beneath the floor
In the asylum for the mad…
To avenge what they had lost
To destiny’s child

Yet fate lies undetermined
Neath the rotting of the wood
As darkness seeps down tainted walls
In shades of haunting hues…
Echoes of the muffled screams
From falling crystal stones…
Yet closets with their doors nailed shut
Can’t hush the buried bones

Hail does not fall softly
On the plains in early spring
Though I often scribe the rhymes
Of distant thunder…
Yet no man can asunder
What shadows may prevail
In the wee hours of the morn
Of mortal minds…

Michael33

3 thoughts on “Of Mortal Minds

    • Good morning AmyRose…

      Thank you so much, but I am so sorry to hear that you can relate so well to this poem. I must thank you also… for reading much deeper into it than what it’s words portray as the obvious… As you know… my words… most all the time… speak of one thing while actually possessing a much different and deeper meaning of emotions… I have often wondered how many readers actually do read “between the lines”… At least I know that there is one with that most important understanding… and I am humbly grateful…

      Hope your Sunday is filled with many beautiful moments…

      Michael

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re in good company, Michael, because I’ve often questioned if those who view my work even read what I write or do they even understand the deeper meanings? It gets discouraging so today I encourage you to keep on digging deep to spread the Truth of your discoveries. My life has improved thank goodness. Last week was tough with a capital T. Much Love to you this day! 💖💖💖

        Like

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

