Secrets in the Asphalt

Asphalt 1B

It is a most beautiful, rainy Sunday morning here in the southern plains…
The sound of distant thunder rumbling softly through the valley…
I hope your day is as beautiful…

Secrets in the Asphalt

She walks past me every morning
Head down…
Unaware of her surroundings
Perhaps lost in thought
Lost in time from long ago…
Often, I have offered a “Good morning!”
As she shuffles slowly by
But seldom does she even give a glance…
I have wondered what all she has seen
In her many miles of wandering these streets
Staring into the asphalt
Never turning her head to the left
Nor to the right…
Nor even looking up
For what is standing
Right in front of her…
Years ago… she would pause a moment
A brief impersonal conversation…
Her eyes never looking into mine
Nervously glancing around as if
To find a way to escape…
I once offered her a wildflower…
She held it suspiciously
Tween her thumb and fore finger
Arm extended
As if it would burn…
Introducing myself to her
She replied… somberly
“They call me Dee…
But that is not my name”
Then turned to continue her journey
Walking away from the light of dawn…
Head down…
Perhaps just lost in time from long ago…
Searching for the secrets in the asphalt…

Namasté

Michael33

One thought on “Secrets in the Asphalt

Please... Tell me what's on your mind

