I Opened Up the Sun

i-opened-up-the-sun-1

I Opened Up the Sun

I opened up the sun to find
What warms all living things
But found what humans used to cause the slaughter
I dug a hole into the earth
To find its inner beauty
But found the crude that always taints the water

I climbed upon a billowed cloud
To touch the deep blue sky
But found polluted air from acts of greed
I sprinkled moon dust on the earth
To calm the violent rage
But found a peaceful heart can’t stop the bleed

I wandered through the universe
To find the perfect cure
But found that time stands still across the ridge
I swam across the River Styx
To touch its magic lure
But found that love can’t always build a bridge

I opened up the book of life
And searched its rhymes for peace
But found the parchment scribed with shadowed runes
I spread my wings of silver strings
To dwell in lunar light
But found there was no muse upon the moon

I opened up the sun to find
What warms all living things
But found that sunshine melts the morning dew
I looked into the shining light
For life, for peace, for love
Then realized…
                         I found them all in you

Michael33

Copyright © 2016

5 thoughts on “I Opened Up the Sun

Please... Tell me what's on your mind